Titleist Cup history

Titleist Cup

The Titleist Cup was a Ryder Cup-style event contested between members of the PGAs of British Columbia and Alberta, held annually between 1992 and 2000. 

For the inaugural competition, both zones assembled 12-man teams to compete in the matches, which featured sessions of four-ball and foursomes on Day 1, followed by singles matches on Day 2. From 1993 on, the teams were expanded to include two women on each zone's team. Both provincial squads would also feature two senior-aged players and two Assistant Professionals, while the remaining team members were Head or Executive Professionals. 

Each match of the competition awarded three points, determined via Nassau scoring. The two zones alternated years as hosts of the event, with Predator Ridge Resort being the lone facility to serve as venue more than once. 

When the matches were discontinued following the 2000 event, BC held a 7-2 advantage in the number of Cups won. 

The photo above shows both teams posing for a photo during the 1994 matches at Victoria Golf Club. The images below list the final results, team rosters and host facilities by year. The Titleist Cup trophy remains on display at the PGA of BC administration office. 











< BACK to Championship History Hub