Dick Munn Golf Professional of the Year

Dick Munn Golf Professional of the Year

presented by Joe Fortes Seafood & Chop House

2020 Recipient - Padraic O'Rourke

Head Professional, The Fairmont Chateau Whistler Golf Club

Dick Munn was one of the most influential Golf Professionals of his generation. He was the consummate Professional, mentoring dozens of Assistant Professionals who went on to be Head Professionals themselves. He was a longtime Head Professional at Point Grey Golf & Country Club, which then led to an opportunity to develop and open Gallagher's Canyon Golf & Country Club in Kelowna. Munn received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the PGA of BC in 2010.

The Dick Munn Golf Professional of the Year Award is one of the highest honours the Association can bestow on a working club professional whose total contributions to the game best exemplify the complete PGA of BC Professional. This award embraces a wide range of services executed by the club professional.

The Dick Munn Golf Professional of the Year:

  • Demonstrates outstanding qualities of leadership
  • Demonstrates strong moral character
  • Maintains a substantial record of service to the Association and the game of golf
  • Is well-regarded as a role model to other PGA of BC Golf Professionals
Past winners of the Dick Munn Golf Professional of the Year Award:
(* - Denotes national award winner)
2019 - Dave Zibrik
2018 - Cindy Soukoroff
2017 - Adam Blair
2016 - Alan Palmer*
2015 - Jason Giesbrecht
2014 - Tom Monaghan
2013 - Kevin Maffioli
2012 - Jeff Wiggins
2011 - Scott Dickson
2010 - Troy Peverley
2009 - Norm Jackson
2008 - Keith Gibson
2007 - Rob Anderson
2006 - Ward Stouffer
2005 - Peter Smith
2004 - Brian McDonald*
2003 - Moe Hays
2002 - Doug Robb
2001 - Rick Crowson 
2000 - John Jacoby
1999 - Scott Keenlyside*
1998 - Dale Schienbein
1997 Craig Rencher
1996 - Al Mackenzie
1995 - Tim Tait
1994 - Gilles Dufort
1993 - Norm Jackson
1992 - Mel White
CLICK HERE to view this award's Regional Recipients by year.