Jock McKinnon Apprentice Professional of the Year

Jock McKinnon Apprentice Professional of the Year

presented by Srixon / Cleveland Golf / XXIO

2020 Recipient - Callum Ashby

Highland Pacific Golf

Jock McKinnon was the first Golf Professional at Capilano Golf & Country Club when the prestigious Club opened its doors in 1937. His career at Capilano spanned more than four decades and saw the mentorship of countless aspiring Golf Professionals, who knew that working and learning from McKinnon would almost certainly guarantee a Head Professional position of their own when the opportunity arose. He also served four years as President of the PGA of BC and was awarded an Honourary Membership with the PGA of America.

The Jock McKinnon Apprentice Professional of the Year Award is the highest honour the Association can bestow on a working Apprentice Professional whose total contributions to the game best exemplify an up-and-coming PGA of Canada Professional yet to achieve their Class "A" status. This award embraces a wide range of services executed by the recipient.

Prior to 2011, this honour was known as the Assistant Professional of the Year Award.

The Jock McKinnon Apprentice Professional of the Year:

  • Demonstrates outstanding qualities of leadership
  • Demonstrates  strong moral character
  • Is well-regarded as a role model to other PGA of BC Apprentices

Past recipients of the Jock McKinnon Apprentice Professional of the Year Award:
(* - denotes national award winner)

2019 - Kate Weir
2018 - Cailean Hourigan
2017 - Clark MacPherson
2016 - Brian Wise
2015 - Tyrel Griffith
2014 - Brodie Carle*
2013 - Gordy Scutt
2012 - Colin Lavers
2011 - Lindsay Bernakevitch
2010 - Mark Strong
2009 - Aaron Grice
2008 - Mark Strong
2007 - Scott Rodgers
2006 - Gavin Eckford
2005 - Lance McCullough
2004 - Winston Michell
2003 - Dean Kuntz
2002 - Neil Roberts
2001 - Gord Melissa
2000 - Hal Eremko
1999 - Brian McDonald
1998 - Cory Draper
1997 - Hal Eremko
1996 - Neil Schmidt
1995 - Troy Dunning
1994 - James Cronk
1993 - Paul Dashkewytch
1992 - Dean Claggett

CLICK HERE to view this award's Regional Recipients by year.

< BACK to PGA of BC Awards Program